New Horizons

August 21, 2009 at 4:18 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , )

Last week, as I sped along in my well-worn 1989 Oldsmobile Cutlass, enjoying a warm Ohio summer’s day, I passed the growing number of derelict buildings- houses, businesses, and factories that line nearly every street. Generally, the sight of those empty places fills me with melancholy  for the loss of the days when the factories and businesses provided jobs and people could afford to live in the houses. And I suppose its a side-effect of my Master’s Degree in history that causes an internal monologue to play in my head, railing against a nation foolish enough to ruin itself the way we have. Nearly a decade ago, the late comedian and social commentator, George Carlin, spoke disparagingly of America trading its soul in exchange for “cellphones that make pancakes.” Well, the way things are going, pretty soon most Americans also won’t have the cellphone or the pancakes.

Be that as it may, on the day I’m recounting I looked at the deserted spaces and, somehow, no longer cared so much. I can only compare it to the gradual recovery from the death of a loved one. One can only grieve for so long and then must get on with life.

And there is a lot of life to be done! Myrtle and I have started a non-profit organization to formalize the charity work we’ve done for years. Our children are grown and trying to make their own way in the midst of economic destruction. Numerous friends, family, and strangers are losing their jobs, homes, and businesses. I am determined to keep my wits about me, work to empower myself and them,  so we’ll all get through to a better day.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

