Wow, Was I Wrong!

December 22, 2009 at 5:36 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )

I haven’t had health insurance in 9 years. The end of my coverage coincided with my downsizing out of a 20+ year career in the printing industry (another of the multitude of enterprises America no longer has within its  boarders). I still remember how ecstatic I was back in 1980, when I got that job; my first that not only paid well, but had fringe benefits like health insurance and a retirement pension. It was a real “grown-up” job like my parents had.

My excellent health has enabled me to go these 9 years without the wallet-draining help of the medical profession. I attribute my good health mostly to my long-standing belief in positive thinking and what used to be called “health foods.”  I don’t have the highest opinion of doctors. I really think they aren’t good for much beyond operating if you’ve got something like appendicitis or diagnosing an obvious condition like diabetes. Anything more complex and their attempts at a “cure” may be worse than the ailment.

But in spite of that, I know modern medicine has its place in civilized society.  I don’t forgo medical coverage out of choice, I would love to have it if I could squeeze it into my minuscule budget. Ah, the luxury of being able to take my sore throat  or aching foot to a physician and receive treatment…

(Excuse me, I was lost in reverie for a few moments) Delirious from the hope induced by Obama’s election, I truly thought America’s politicians were, at long last, ready to provide their citizens with universal access to health care.

Wow, was I wrong! And now, it looks like Americans not only won’t get universal coverage, their crazy government will try to force the poorest ones to buy insurance coverage, under threat of being branded as criminals and fined. Only the twitterpated mind of an insulated-from-reality Washington, D.C. multi-millionaire politician who gets perks like free haircuts (and free healthcare) could think that this is any kind of fix for the problem.

“Where in blue blazes are people who were too poor to buy insurance in the first place supposed to get money to buy insurance when they’re forced?” ask many sane Americans. “Don’t worry,” the multi-millionaire politicians assure us, “they can apply to the government for assistance to pay for their forced insurance.”

Well, as one of America’s many financially-ruined citizens I have first-hand frustrating experience with applying to the government for assistance. To cite two examples out of many: 1) so that my working, divorced daughter could go to college, she needed financial help with my granddaughter’s daycare. That took seven weeks of almost daily calling the social workers and, finally, in desperation a call to our state governor’s office hotline to get results. 2) I applied for heating energy assistance for this winter, which involves getting up about 3 am in order to stand in line in the freezing cold outside the application office to get one of 25 entrance tickets at about 8 am.

I was 17th in the heating assistance line that day, because some people camp out there all night. There were about 50 people in line, which means a lot of people turned away each day. My point is that there will be a lot of poor people spending a lot of their time going begging “hat in hand” to the bureaucrats in order to buy insurance.

I was once solidly middle-class and paid taxes for 37 years before being destroyed in the Great Recession. I was surprised at how confusing, uncaring, and inadequate our social safety net is. Pray that you don’t have to find out also.

5 Comments

  1. isaacsolaria said,

    I honestly look forward to seeing exactly what will come along and reverse this shithole called planet Earth. While other countries of the world certainly have advantages over the United States, the sad truth is that there is no refuge from the impending doom that we are soon to bring upon ourselves.

    It’s rather fitting that, after having invented “god” and related characters, we shall also be the ones to bring about his much-touted apocalypse.

    It’s getting harder and harder to keep your mental and emotional momentum during what could be generously described as hell on Earth.

    • Edwin Girdle said,

      Yes, it can be tough staying positive. But our future does grow out of today’s thoughts & plans, so we must keep in mind a positive outcome. I have long wondered whether America’s post-modern focus on dystopian, rather than utopian, visions of the future could be helping bring about the horrible world we now see. I have tried to write a post about that very subject, but haven’t gotten it right-enough to publish yet.

  2. Page Kearin said,

    I admire the valuable information you offer in your articles.I enjoying reading your post. You make valid points in a concise and pertinent fashion, I will read more of your stuff, many thanks to the author

    • Edwin Girdle said,

      Thank you, I appreciate your kind words. I’m attempting to turn my blog into a site which expresses how things are at this level of American society.

  3. Louie Atzhorn said,

    I enjoy reading the valuable information you offer in your articles.I enjoying reading your post. You make 100% valid points in a concise and pertinent fashion, I will read more of your stuff, many thanks to the author

Leave a Reply

