Dear Banker, I Never Meant to Hurt You.

February 13, 2010 at 1:50 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , )

When, as a child, I was difficult to deal with, my mum used to tell me, “you catch more flies with honey than you do with vinegar.”

I was reminded of her wise words when, this morning, I saw this excellent essay by Numerian on the agonist website. Apparently, the bankers feel hurt by the public’s nasty attitude toward them and they are now in a huff, so they are striking back in their pain the only way they know how: by refusing to lend the money that keeps our economy going.

Ater I read it, I broke-down sobbing. Yes! Yes, I have been a cad! I thought only of myself, and the millions of unemployed, and those who lost their homes, and people who lost their retirement funds, and the record number of victims bankrupted, but I never considered the pain the bankers are going through. They feel neglected and unloved; that’s why they have turned-away from us. Well, I for one, am turning-over a new leaf. No more calling them ‘banksters,” no more making obscene gestures when I pass a bank, and most importantly- absolutely no more angry demands for more banking regulation. Perhaps, as Numerian advises, I shall send my beloved banker a Valentine card.

Leave a Reply

